Register for class 6 weeks prior to start date, and receive either an Amazon eGift Card for up to $250 OR 10% off your course!

    Enter coupon code: earlybird(gift card) OR earlybird-10(10% off)

    Need training for a group? TechSherpas 365 offers private, customized Onsite TrainingContact us for details/quotes.

    ICLIn-Classroom Learning VLTVirtual Live Training GTRClass is guaranteed to Run
    SATVMicrosoft Software Assurance Training Vouchers CLCCisco Learning Credits/Vouchers ODLOn-Demand Learning
    Location Start date End Date Class Times Class Details Action
    01/20/2020 01/24/2020 ICLVLT Register
    04/13/2020 04/17/2020 ICLVLT Register
    07/06/2020 07/10/2020 ICLVLT Register
    09/28/2020 10/02/2020 ICLVLT Register
    12/14/2020 12/18/2020 ICLVLT Register


    Exams Included:

    • SY0-501

    About TechSherpas Boot Camps

    TechSherpas boot camps are geared towards providing students with the necessary skills and knowledge to not only pass the Certification exams, but to also excel in their IT career paths. All of our boot camps are all-inclusive and include benefits such as:

    • All CompTIA Training Course materials, practice exams and official certification exams
    • Test Pass Guarantee
    • Onsite Prometric Testing Center
    • Hands-on instruction by a certified instructor
    • Lunch provided each day
    • Airfare, lodging and transportation packages available

    About this CompTIA Training Course

    The Security+ Certification Prep Course provides the basic knowledge needed to plan, implement, and maintain information security in a vendor-neutral format. This includes risk management, host and network security, authentication and access control systems, cryptography, and organizational security. This course maps to the CompTIA Security+ certification exam (SY0-501). Objective coverage is marked throughout the course.

    Our Security+ courseware has received the CompTIA Approved Quality Content (CAQC) validation, assuring that all test objectives are covered in the training material.

    What is Security+ Certification?

    The Security+ certification is considered to be the minimum level of certification for all IT security positions beyond entry-level. This course delivers the core knowledge required to pass the exam and the skills necessary to advance to an intermediate-level security job.

    Students will benefit most from this course if they intend to take the CompTIA Security+ SY0-501 exam.


    This course assumes basic knowledge of using and maintaining individual workstations.

    Attendees should be CompTIA A+ certified (or have equivalent experience) and CompTIA Network+ certified (or have equivalent experience) with 2-3 years networking experience.

    At CompTIA Training Course Completion

    In the Security+ Certification Prep Course, you will learn to:

    • Proactively implement sound security protocols to mitigate security risks
    • Quickly respond to security issues
    • Retroactively identify where security breaches may have occurred
    • Design a network, on-site or in the cloud, with security in mind


    Chapter 1: Security Fundamentals

    • Module A: Security concepts
    • Module B: Risk management
    • Module C: Vulnerability assessment

    Chapter 2: Understanding attacks

    • Module A: Understanding attackers
    • Module B: Social engineering
    • Module C: Malware
    • Module D: Network attacks
    • Module E: Application attacks

    Chapter 3: Cryptography

    • Module A: Cryptography concepts
    • Module B: Public key infrastructure

    Chapter 4: Network fundamentals

    • Module A: Network components
    • Module B: Network addressing
    • Module C: Network ports and applications

    Chapter 5: Securing networks

    • Module A: Network security components
    • Module B: Transport encryption
    • Module C: Hardening networks
    • Module D: Monitoring and detection

    Chapter 6: Securing hosts and data

    • Module A: Securing hosts
    • Module B: Securing data
    • Module C: Mobile device security

    Chapter 7: Securing network services

    • Module A: Securing applications
    • Module B: Virtual and cloud systems

    Chapter 8: Authentication

    • Module A: Authentication factors
    • Module B: Authentication protocols

    Chapter 9: Access control

    • Module A: Access control principles
    • Module B: Account management

    Chapter 10: Organizational security

    • Module A: Security policies
    • Module B: User training
    • Module C: Physical security and safety

    Chapter 11: Disaster planning and recovery

    • Module A: Business continuity
    • Module B: Fault tolerance and recovery
    • Module C: Incident response