Get Continuing Education Units (CEUs) and Professional Development Units (PDUs) Through IT Training

23 April, 2013 | Della Wyler | Training & Education
Learn Earn 300x1991

Continuing education and professional development are important facets for long-term success for people across a variety of industries and job positions. Many organizations require their employees to maintain specific certifications by obtaining Continuing Education Units (CEUs) or Professional Development Units (PDUs). Although CEUs and PDUs are required to sustain a particular status of expertise, they also provide great opportunity for building up an individual’s knowledge base. This enables current employees to stay relevant to their particular line of work. On-going training allows skills sets to be kept up to speed with improvements in current technologies and best practices, keeping the organization productivity at optimal levels. CEUs and PDUs are important to people for various reasons. Did you know you could earn CEUs and PDUs by participating in IT training courses?

CEUs for IT Certifications

There are several IT certifications, such as CompTIA’s A+ and Network+, which require recertification every few years. Students can choose from remote or instructor-led courses to help them prepare for their exams to pass! The recertification requirements only emphasize the importance of maintaining a thorough understanding of these technologies as newer versions are developed, and released. This allows for smooth and seamless transitions from one upgrade to another, which is critical when firms need to conduct business as usual.

Know your CEU Requirements

Depending on your industry, profession, or job function, the amount of CEUs you are required to obtain, and the amount of time you have to obtain those will vary. It is important that you verify this information with the organization or governing agency who issued your certification. Universally, 1 CEU = 10 Contact hours. The top five in-demand IT certifications for 2013 include: MCSA (Microsoft Certified Solutions Associate); MSCE: Private Cloud (Microsoft Solutions Certified Expert); PMP (Project Management Professional); VCP (VMware); and CISSP (Certified Information Systems Security Professional). If you currently hold these certifications, you should be aware when they expire, and make sure you get recertified, as they are in high demand by employers. CEUs in these areas will ensure competency to pass the exam. View our full list of Microsoft Courses here.

Know your PDU Requirements

If you are a Project Manager and hold PMP, PgMP, PMI-SP, or PMI-RMP, or PMI-ACP credentials, adherence to the Continuing Certification requirements (CCR) program, is essential to maintain these pertinent credentials. To report your PDUs, you will need to use the Continuing Certification Requirements System (CCRS). The CCRS provides online PDU reporting for all PMI credentials that are included in the CCR program. Each PMI credential requires a specific amount of PDUs per three year certification cycle. Follow this link to find out the specific requirements for each. (1 PDU = 1 Hour of Engagement)

Check out Project Management training courses here:

Microsoft Project
Project Management
Earn CEUs & PDU through IT Training

Let TechSherpas help you progress in your field, industry or profession. We offer courses that will earn you CEUs and/or PDUs, whether you are an IT professional, accountant, project manager, educator, or business professional. Just search our Courses page for the class you are interested in, and more importantly, fits your continuing education and/or professional development needs and sign up. Once you have completed the course, you will be provided a certificate stating the course completed, hours, and CEUs/PDUs earned. For more detailed information on how to earn your CEUs or PDUs through TechSherpas , click here. Just another way we can help you succeed! Contact us today to start earning your credits.